fbpx

STAR

Star - Scholars on Target to Achieve Results

STAR (Scholars on Target to Achieve Results) is an academic engagement intervention program for middle & high School Black / African American students in the Appleton School District.

The STAR Team serves to advocate, mentor, connect, and guide Black scholars. STAR is led by Kayla McNamara, Senior Director of Targeted Support Services.

The STAR program, is a collaboration involving the Appleton Area School DistrictMenasha Joint School District, Lawrence University, St. Norbert College, Fox Valley Technical College, University of Wisconsin System, African Heritage Inc. and ThedaCare. The Boys & Girls Clubs of the Fox Valley fulfills the role of the backbone organization.

Meet the STAR Team

The Team serves as mentors and connect with youth 1:1 and in groups during the school day at school site and at after school programming in community. They also work to provide additional support within the school structure among existing systems of support for students to further ensure student success and goal attainment.

Working with key school staff through the Check & Connect Intervention Model and Developmental Relationships Framework, STAR ensures that the needs/opportunities of Black students are identified and made accessible.

Appleton Area School District

Kike Tomori, Madison & Einstein Middle School
ktomori@bgclubfoxvalley.org

Tanner Bump, Wilson Middle School
tbump@bgclubfoxvalley.org

Wasonu “Frog” Allen, Kaleidoscope Academy
wallen@bgclubfoxvalley.org

Irineo Medina, Appleton East High School
imedina@bgclubfoxvalley.org

Sherman Calloway, Appleton West High School
scalloway@bgclubfoxvalley.org

Enya Roach, Appleton West High School
eroach@bgclubfoxvalley.org

Dennetra Williams, Appleton North High School
dwilliams@bgclubfoxvalley.org

Jessica Johnson, Appleton North High School
jjohnson@bgclubfoxvalley.org

In the Media

Funding

Funding for the STAR program is made possible by generous support including gifts from United Way Fox Cities, Thrivent Financial Foundation, ThedaCare Community Health Action Team Fund*, Mielke Family Foundation*, the Bright Ideas Fund*, and the Basic Needs Giving Partnership Fund within the Community Foundation for the Fox Valley Region supported by the U.S. Venture Fund for Basic Needs, the J. J. Keller Foundation and other community partners.  

*A fund or supporting organization located within the Community Foundation for the Fox Valley Region, Inc.

Get Involved

Contact Kayla McNamara, Senior Director of Targeted Support Services, kmcnamara@bgclubfoxvalley.org for more information.