fbpx

Star - Scholars on Target to Achieve Results

STAR (Scholars on Target to Achieve Results) is an initiative working to build equitable educational opportunities for Black Scholars in the Fox Cities.

The STAR Team serves to advocate, mentor, connect, and guide Black scholars. STAR is led by Kayla McNamara, Senior Director of Targeted Support Services.

Theory of Change

Learn More

Meet the STAR Team

The Team serves as mentors and connect with youth 1:1 and in groups during the school day at school site and at after school programming in community. They also work to provide additional support within the school structure among existing systems of support for students to further ensure student success and goal attainment.

Working with key school staff through the Check & Connect Intervention Model and Developmental Relationships Framework, STAR ensures that the needs/opportunities of Black students are identified and made accessible.

Appleton Area School District

Courtney Hardin (STAR Coordinator), James Madison & Einstein Middle School
chardin@bgclubfoxvalley.org

Tanner Bump (STAR Coordinator), Wilson Middle School
tbump@bgclubfoxvalley.org

Kaleidoscope Academy

Irineo Medina (STAR Assistant Director), Appleton East High School
imedina@bgclubfoxvalley.org

Bri’aun Hollie (STAR Advisor), Appleton East High School
bhollie@bgclubfoxvalley.org

Sherman Calloway (STAR Assistant Director), Appleton West High School
scalloway@bgclubfoxvalley.org

Enya Roach (STAR Advisor), Appleton West High School
eroach@bgclubfoxvalley.org

Dennetra Williams (STAR Assistant Director), Appleton North High School
dwilliams@bgclubfoxvalley.org

Jessica Johnson (STAR Advisor), Appleton North High School
jjohnson@bgclubfoxvalley.org

Funding

Funding for the STAR program is made possible by generous support including gifts from Ascension, the Appleton Area School District, United Way Fox Cities, Thrivent, ThedaCare Community Health Action Team Fund*, the Bright Ideas Fund*, and the Basic Needs Giving Partnership Fund within the Community Foundation for the Fox Valley Region supported by the U.S. Venture Fund for Basic Needs, the J. J. Keller Foundation, Women’s Fund for the Fox Valley Region*, and other community partners.  

The STAR initiative is a collaboration involving the Appleton Area School District, Lawrence University, St. Norbert College, Fox Valley Technical College, University of Wisconsin System, African Heritage Inc., and ThedaCare. The Boys & Girls Clubs of the Fox Valley fulfills the role of the backbone organization.

*A fund or supporting organization located within the Community Foundation for the Fox Valley Region, Inc.

Get Involved

Contact Kayla McNamara, Senior Director of Targeted Support Services, kmcnamara@bgclubfoxvalley.org for more information.